New Chair of CIGRE B5

The International Council on Large Electric Systems (in French Conseil International des Grands Réseaux Électriques, CIGRÉ) is a global organization in the field of high voltage electricity.

The activities of CIGRÉ are divided into sixteen study committees(SC), with Study Committee B5 focused on Protection and Automation.

The main activity of this Study Committee is to determine the technical questions, the progress of which calls for international collaboration and to aim at advancing knowledge in the field of electric power systems protection, automation and control.

The Chairman of a Study Committee is elected by the Administrative Council upon recommendation of the Executive Committee. This recommendation is based on a report by the Chairman of the Technical Committee who seeks the advice of the retiring Chairman and the opinion of regular members. The term of office of a Study Committee Chairman is four years; it can be extended to six years upon decision of the Administrative Council.

During the closing of the SC B5 session, the outgoing Chairman Dr. Iony Patriota de Siqueira (Brazil) announced that the new Chair for SC B5 will be Rannveig Loken (Norway).

Rannveig has acted as the Secretary of SC B5 since 2012 and has been actively involved in the work of different working groups.

Rannveig Loeken graduated in 1992 with a Master of Science degree from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway and her special field of interest is protection and control for the transmission system. She is currently the project manager in Statnett for an R&D project related to Digital substation. She has many years of experience from her position as Head of the Control and Protection section in Statnett. In addition to her work in CIGRE, she is a member of the Advisory board of PAC World, Committee member of DPSP, and Member of International Advisory Committee APA

Protecting your electrical assets? today and tomorrow