IEEE PSRC Update Industry Updates

IEEE PES PSRC Update – Issue 051 March 2020

by Catherine Dalton, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)

PES Power System Relaying and Control (PSRC) Committee is responsible for the development of standards, guides and reports covering different aspects of protection and control of electric power systems.

The IEEE PES Power System Relaying and Control Committee (PSRC) held its January 2020 meeting in Jacksonville, FL. The Advisory, System Protection, Line Protection, Relaying Communications, Relaying Practices, Rotating Machinery Protection, and Substation Protection subcommittees of the PSRC all met, following meetings of more than one hundred working groups (WG), task forces (TF), and study groups (SG) of these subcommittees. Updates from each subcommittee were presented to PSRC’s Main Committee in a final session. The advisory committee is working to strengthen PSRC awareness by preparing technical articles as may be required for the promotion of technical committee working group activities about the art of relaying, and the work of the PSRC.

Technical Paper Coordinator Report: The Main PSRC committee is reviewing papers for IEEE Transactions and Conferences for the upcoming T&D 2020 (Chicago, IL April 20-23, 2020). Thirteen papers were submitted and nine were accepted. Seven papers will be in the forum and two papers will be in poster session. PSRCC will also have two panel sessions. For the IEEE PES General Meeting in 2020 which is in Montreal, Canada (Aug 2-7, 2020), papers are under review. A total of 38 papers have been received, and approximately 20 papers will be accepted. PSRCC will have three panel sessions at the general meeting.

Awards and Recognition: PSRC Main Committee New Members–Class of 2020—announced at the January 2020 meeting. They include: B. Davies, L. Sevov, M. Kockott, Q. Qiu, R. Frye, T. Bell. At the September 2019 meeting, PSRC Main Committee New Members Class of 2019 included: Martin Best, Matt Black, Joerg Blumschein, Oscar Bolado, Cathy Dalton, Rick Gamble, Allen Goldstein, Michael Higginson, Will Knapek, Manish Patel, Phil Tatro, Jun Versoza, Christopher Walker, and Don Ware. Responsibilities of Main Committee members are to participate in at least two out of three Main Committee Meetings per year, and to assist with reviewing technical papers.

IEEE Fellow: The IEEE Fellow Award is a special recognition for members with extraordinary accomplishments in the IEEE technical fields. To ensure this recognition is extraordinary, the total number of recipients each year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total higher- grade membership.

  • IEEE Fellow Class of 2019–Jonathan Sykes– For Leadership in the Application and Management of Reliable Protection Systems for Electric Power Networks
  • IEEE Fellow Class of 2020– Walter Mark Carpenter–For Leadership in Standards Development for Power System Protection
  • IEEE Fellow Class of 2020– Sukumar Brahma–For Contributions to Power System Protection with Distributed and Renewable Generation

IEEE Standards Association (SA) Medallion: The Standards Medallion is awarded for major contributions to the development of standards. 2019 Recipients were recognized at the IEEE SA Awards Ceremony on November 9, 2019. The IEEE Standards 2019 Medallion was awarded to Pratap Mysore, for Contributions to the Development of Standards in the Field of Power System Protection.

PSRC Young Professional Award: This PSRC award recognizes the technical contributions of young members of the PSRC that are 35yrs or younger (as of July 1 of the year of the award) and within ten years of graduation. The winner of this award will also be nominated for PES level recognition representing the PSRC Committee. The 2019 PSRC Young Professional Award was awarded to Richard D. Gamble, in recognition for his contributions, active engagement and services provided to this Committee.

PSRC Career Service Award: Recent Past Recipients for this award include: Gerald F. Johnson (2016), Malcolm Swanson (2017), and Roger Hedding (2018). The 2019 PSRC Career Service Award was awarded to Steve Conrad, who has been a PSRC Member since 1982, and past J and K Subcommittee Chair.

Each PSRC technical subcommittee has numerous working groups that are working on new and existing standards and guides. More detailed reports will be discussed in a future edition of PAC World.

Working groups, task forces and subcommittees will meet again at the PSRC’s next meeting in May 2020 in Nashville, TN. The PSRC continues to recruit additional participants to offer their expertise and knowledge in the areas of power system relaying.

Future meetings:

  • May 4 -7, 2020 – Nashville, TN, USA
  • September 21-24, 2020 – Reno, Nevada, USA
  • January 10 – 14, 2021 – New Orleans, LA, USA

During its May 2020 Committee Meeting, a special Musical Jam is being planned for the evening of Monday May 4, after the PSRC/PSCC welcome reception dinner in Nashville, TN. All players and singers are invited.


Catherine Dalton is a Strategic Account Executive at EPRI. She has broad experience in the electric utility industry. She is a Senior Member of the IEEE, and an active participant in IEEE PES PSRC. She has a Master’s degree in electrical engineering (Ohio State University,) and a MBA from the University of Dayton. Previously she worked for American Electric Power, Basler Electric, SEL and Beckwith Electric.